The goal of the SCECSAL Author Awards is to honour and recognize individual works by library, information and knowledge professionals in the SCECSAL region and ultimately encourage and promote research and authorship in the library, information and knowledge field in the region. The guidelines for the Awards are available here.

SCECSAL Author of the Year Award (Journal Articles/Chapters in Books Category)

2018 Awards - 23 April 2018, Entebbe, Uganda

  • Associate Professor Jaya Raju - Head of the Library and Information Studies Centre, University of Cape Town, South Africa

2002 Awards - 19 April 2002, Johannesburg, South Africa

  • Jenny Raubenheimer - Director, Document Delivery and Acting Head, UNISA Library, University of South Africa, Pretoria, South Africa; and John van Niekerk - Deputy Director: Library Services, Medical University of South Africa (Medunsa)

SCECSAL Author of the Year Award (Books Category)

2018 Awards - 23 April 2018, Entebbe, Uganda

  • Professor Maria G.N. Musoke - East African School of Library and Information Science of Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda
    Informed and Healthy: Theoretical and Applied Perspectives on the Value of Information to Health Care. 1st ed.

2000 Awards - 15 April 2000, Windhoek, Namibia

  • Professor Maurice C. Lundu - University Librarian, Copperbelt University, Kitwe, Zambia
    The Library in the Service of Society: Philosophical Foundation. Pretoria: Info Africa Nova, 1995.
    Political Economy of Information on Development, Democracy and Security in Southern Africa. Harare: SAPES Books, 1996

Copyright 2001 - 2018 SCECSAL