The SCECSAL Author Award was established with the objective of encouraging local authorship in the field of library and information studies.

Past Awards

No awards were given at SCECSAL XVI in 2004 (Kampala, Uganda); SCECSAL XVII in 2006 (Dar es Salaam, Tanzania); SCECSAL XVIII in 2008 (Lusaka, Zambia); SCECSAL XIX in 2010 (Gabarone, Botswana); SCECSAL XX in 2012 (Nairobi, Kenya); SCECSAL XXI in 2014 (Lilongwe, Malawi) and SCECSAL XXII in 2016 (Ezulwini, Swaziland).


The Award

The award consists of a certificate and a cash prize.

Criteria for Selection

Contenders for the Award should be authors who have individually or jointly published in the field of

  • Information science, including Archives, Bibliography, Documentation, Information Technology and Librarianship;
  • Journal articles and monographs will be considered BUT NOT academic dissertations and theses;
  • Publications submitted should have appeared within the last three years, including the year in which the award is being offered.

Procedure for Nominations

  • Nominations of authors for the Award should be made by SCECSAL Member Associations.
  • Each Member Association is allowed to submit a maximum of THREE (3) nominations.
  • Each nomination must be accompanied by the publication(s) on which it is based. Nomonations without the supporting publication(s) are automaticaly disqualified.


Judges for the SCECSAL Author Award are selected by the Secretariat of member SCECSAL Association hosting the Conference at which the award will be given, and

  • The panel of judges shall consist of FIVE people, professionals with wide experience and demonstrated knowledge in the library and information service (LIS) field.
  • One member of the panel of judges should be a prominent author outside the LIS field.


Nominations for the Award should be forwarded to the SCECSAL Member Association hosting the Conference, by 31 January in the year in which the award will be awarded. See SCECSAL Conferences for information about the Next Conference.

Copyright 2001 - 2016 SCECSAL